Rachel Carson (1907-1964)


  • Under the Sea-Wind. New York: Oxford University Press, 1941.
  • The Sea Around Us. New York: Oxford University Press, 1951.
  • The Edge of the Sea. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1955.
  • Silent Spring. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1962.
  • The Sense of Wonder. New York:  HarperCollins, 1998.
  • Lost Woods: The Discovered Writing of Rachel CarsonBoston: Beacon Press, 1999.


The Life and Legacy of Rachel Carson (Web site by Carson’s biographer Linda J. Lear) http://www.rachelcarson.org/

Rachel Carson: A Conservation Legacy

Rachel Carson: A Resource Guide. Library of Congress.

Iowa State University. Archives of Women’s Political Communication. https://awpc.cattcenter.iastate.edu/directory/rachel-carson/

Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring, a Book that Changed the World. Virtual Exhibitions. http://www.environmentandsociety.org/exhibitions/rachel-carsons-silent-spring